Day 99 – 1 day ’til spring

Time for one last look at the expense tracker.

Type of Expense

 

 

Amount

         

Groceries

     

600

Gas

     

420

Entertainment

   

382

Gifts

     

325

Charity

     

145

Home

     

314

Clothing

     

57

Alcohol

     

139

Dining Out

     

207

 

     

 

Total Spending:

 

 

2564

 

When I started out with this idea, I threw out a number of $20/day.  That was more of a guess than a goal.  The final number came in at 25.90.  I purposely was not quite as frugal (cheap) this winter as in the previous two years.  I wanted to get a realistic look at what my expenses look like for a period time.  Throughout this season I had some healthcare costs, home and car maintenance, a vacation as well as some typical entertainment, dining and gift expenses.  Not all of these costs were factored into this tracker.  Some were covered with specific savings accounts.  Overall though, I think it works as a reasonable representation of my daily expenses.  I can now add this information to my overall budget to help determine how much money I need to survive.  It’s my hope that this will help me set realistic goals as I inch closer to retirement.

Day 98 spending = $1 (Dollar Dog Monday)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 99 – 1 day ’til spring

  1. Dodie says:

    I am already thinking I am going to miss your blog, and that you helped me to enjoy the count down to spring. Thank you Mike!
    and P.S. four days until the Todd Snider show in Ithaca.

Leave a comment